Remarkable Ripple

I usually take my time when I browse through the manied(it should be a word!) articles that populate my RSS reader, but today I’ve been in a tizzy. I should describe my tizzy briefly, though it holds no weight in this entry, I don’t expect it to remain as such for much longer. My tizzy has been, in a nutshell, direction–or aptly clarified “in which direction should I travel?”

That’s pretty much it.

Now, the reason behind this brief( oh yes, this will be brief–remember, the tizzy) is over General Motor Corporation’s bankruptcy filing, which was predicted by some over the weekend, and it’s unimaginable ripple effect. I mean on paper “[GM] spends $50 billion a year buying parts and services from 11,500 vendors in North America” might read to some as just letters, sentences, or numbers, but to me I see a far disconcerting issue afoot. $50 billion is an enormous amount of external services to pay out per year,but justifiable considering that GM has produced more vehicles than the entire population of the United States(currently).

My immediate concern is toward those businesses affected by the drying up of GM’s need of their services–$50 billion feeds a lot of families, pays for a lot of college educations and mortages, and contributes, in one way or another, to the development of urban or suburban communities.

I pity those who didn’t see this coming at GM( the workers, the billers; the mothers, grandfathers, sons, daughters). Those who didn’t know back in 2008 that GM had exhausted all it’s resources, and sought to create welfare by shopping various prospects of it’s company, while branding everything A-OK to the public–even with their creditors marching with torches aflame toward the castle doors.

Some analyst will look at the surface ripples first: the laid off, the programs, events, sporting venue, and stadiums eliminated or closed. They will look at the individuals and families as numbers, colors of a pie or bar chart. They they will assume that this bankruptcy shelling is contained, that GM wrought GM, and those affected are the mere result of an automobile infrastructure ill-equipped( or dearth of foresight) to handle a sweeping mood change by it’s consumers to cleaner burning vehicles, climate change, or gasoline prices above all else. But what I look at is the towns, principalities, and cities affect by the sudden turnout of unemployed skilled workers. I see the unemployment doles swell beyond fiscal allowance; I see the corner stores and markets, once flushed with business from GM workers in town, struggle–if just for a moment, like trying to recover to your feet after a punch in the breadbox. I see creditors flushed with late then delinquent credit card bills; the decision to buy food or soccer uniforms a weighty matter of discussion. I see bills begin to apex; a personal system of finance shaken by the lack of a once sustainable paycheck.

But, they will persevere, under their restraint and skill, if not government assistance( much like GM). GM’s former workers; the affected externalities of communities, programs, and businesses, will make due through this problem. They will have to, for unlike GM but similarly, it is expected of them to reorganize, reassess, and redesign.

Leave a Reply

